Connect with us

World News

Drogba set to receive UEFA President’s award




Drogba set to receive UEFA President's award | Footy Area

Former Ivory Coast international, Didier Drogba is set to be honoured with an award by UEFA for his contribution to humanity.

Former Chelsea frontman Didier Drogba has been selected to receive the 2020 UEFA President’s Award for his commitment to excellence on and off the pitch.

The 42-year-old is to receive the award at Thursday’s draw for the 2020-21 Champions League group stage in Geneva.

The Ivorian has been touching and changing lives since he hung his boots from professional football through his foundation which renders educational assistance to millions of children.

UEFA president Aleksander Ceferin hailed Drogba as “a pioneer” and added that the award was to recognise his “commitment to excellence both on and off the pitch”.

“Didier is a hero to millions of football fans for his achievements throughout his glittering playing career,” Ceferin said via the UEFA website.

The striker earned legendary status during his time at Chelsea, enjoying two stints with the Blues, and winning a host of trophies, including the Champions League.

Drogba set to receive UEFA President's award | Footy Area

Drogba lifted the 2012 Champions League as part of a successful career with Chelsea, grabbing the equaliser in the final and eventually scoring the winning penalty in the resulting shoot-out.

The forward found the back of the net 164 times in 381 outings in all competitions for the Blues and also won four Premier League titles.

The former Ivory Coast international, one of the best Footballers to emerge from the country, also scored his country’s maiden goal at a World Cup finals in 2006 and featured at a further two tournaments.

Drogba, who hung his boots in 2018 after a final season with Phoenix Rising, has been running a foundation that has assisted in building schools for disadvantaged children.

He has also been undergoing a UEFA’s Executive Master for International Players (MIP) programme.

The Ivorian is delighted to with the award and hopes to be a source of inspiration for children to realize their dreams.

Previous winners of the award include Bobby Charlton, Eusebio, Raymond Kopa, Johan Cruyff, Francesco Totti, David Beckham and Eric Cantona.

Drogba will receive the award in Geneva on Thursday during the Champions League draw.

Follow FootyAreaโ„ข on social media for more news like this.

Register for the FootyAreaโ„ข Fantasy Premier League 2020 tournament now, and stand a chance to win amazing cash prizes from our sponsors: Register below now!!!

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *