Connect with us

Premier League

De Bruyne scoops PFA Player of the Year award




De Bruyne wins the the PFA Player of the year award

Manchester City and Belgian midfielder Kevin De Bruyne has won the Professional Footballers’ Association Player of the Year award for 2019-20.

Liverpool were totally dominant in the Premier League last season but Manchester City’s Kevin De Bruyne was the league’s outstanding player.

City lost the Premier League title to Liverpool as they finished a massive 18 points behind Jurgen Klopp’s champions, in second place, but De Bruyne enjoyed an excellent individual campaign.

Kevin De Bruyne has beaten four players from Premier League winners Liverpool, along with club team-mate Raheem Sterling to claim the Professional Footballers Association (PFA) Player of the Year award.

De Bruyne beat off competition from fellow nominees, team-mate Raheem Sterling, along with four Liverpool players – Captain Jordan Henderson, Virgil van Dijk, Sadio Mane and Trent Alexander-Arnold.

The Belgium midfielder scored 16 times and provided 23 assists in all competitions, equalling Thierry Henry’s record of most assists in a single Premier League campaign with 20. He also had the most chances created and most goal involvements of any Premier League player.

De Bruyne adds this award to the Premier League player of the year award he scooped back in August.

Despite being winners of the Premier League title on four occasions in the past nine seasons, a City player has never lifted the award before, while Liverpool have produced three winners in the past seven years.

England and Liverpool right-back Alexander-Arnold who was also a nominee for the PFA player of the season award, received the PFA Young Player of the Year honour.

De Bruyne makes it to the PFA Team of the Year, alongside his four fellow nominees from Liverpool and former club team-mate David Silva, who brought an end a decorated and successful 10 year spell at the Etihad Stadium last season.

Scotland left-back Andy Robertson completes a Liverpool quintet, with Burnley’s Nick Pope selected in between the sticks and Caglar Soyuncu partnering Van Dijk at centre-back.

Soyuncu’s Leicester City team-mate and Premier League Golden Boot winner Jamie Vardy spearheads the front three with Mane and Arsenal’s top scorer Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Kevin De Bruyne will hope to replicate this sort of form in the upcoming Premier League campaign as City aim to challenge Liverpool for the title, after a slightly disappointing campaign last season by their standards.

This football news update is brought to you by the Footy Area team. Do not forget to leave a comment in the comment box below. Also, follow us on TwitterFacebook, and join other fans from around the world on our Telegram channel.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *