Lewandowski deserves to win Ballon d'Or
Robert Lewandowski

Bayern Munich coach Hansi Flick said Robert Lewandowski deserves to win the Ballon d’Or after taking his season tally to 51 goals in all competitions.

Hansi Flick has lavished praise on Polish hitman Robert Lewandowski, who scored two goals in the DFB-Pokal final to maintain his red-hot form in 2019/20

Lewandowski scored twice as Bayern Munich eased past Leverkusen 4-2 on Saturday to retain their DFB-Pokal crown, and wrap up a domestic double for the second straight year.

Bayern took the early lead with goals from David Alaba and Serge Gnabry. Lewandowski later took the centre stage in the second half scoring twice in the 59th and 89th minutes.

It continued Lewandowski’s red-hot form in 2019/20 after the Poland star surpassedhalf a century of goals across all competitions this season.

Lewandowski topped the Bundesliga scoring charts with 34 goals to help Bayern to an eighth consecutive league title, while he has netted 11 goals in the Champions League as the competition prepares to return next month.

And Flick recommended Lewandowski for the Ballon d’Or in his post-match conference, telling reporters: ‘Fifty one goals makes his claim for the Ballon d’Or very strong. The first goal Lewandowski scored, the third goal we [Bayern] scored, was very excellent.

‘The way he took the ball down there and the way he finished it. Of course, he has had a bit of luck with that as well. But that is what sets him apart, he has this confidence in his quality.

‘If I measure for goals now, I see that he has scored 34 goals in the league this year, then you still think about how a player from the Bundesliga can win the Ballon d’Or. Why not? He has laid a solid foundation with his achievements this year and I wish him well.’

Barca superstar Lionel Messi won the Ballon d’Or in 2019, edging out Liverpool’s Virgil van Dijk and Juve’s Cristiano Ronaldo.

The last Bayern Munich player to receive the Ballon d’Or was current Bayern Munich chairman Karl-Heinz Rummenigge in 1981.

This football news update is brought to you by the Footy Area team. Do not forget to leave a comment in the comments section below. Also, follow us on Twitter, Facebook, and join other fans from around the world in our Telegram channel.


Leave a Reply